Bill Santiago is my new favorite comedian and linguistics professor.

16 Nov
pardonmyspanglishcover

Bill Santiago es lo máximo en Spanglish. Read this book

This weekend I had the pleasure of meeting al Rey del Spanglish himself, Mr. Bill Santiago.  Bill had a great comedy set at the  Comedy and Magic Club in Hermosa Beach, y después lo fui a saludar. I recently bought this excellent book called “Pardon My Spanglish, One Man’s Guide to Speaking The Habla,” which he wrote, and was intrigued to meet him.

Bill is the first person to accurately define what it means to be a Spanglish speaker. He describes, in very funny and clever terms, what it’s like to think and speak in 2 languages al mismo tiempo, all while conjugating verbs, mixing idioms, cultural references and even our little idiosyncracies. And the title says “Pardon..” pero no creo que sea muy apologetic al respecto. ¡Lo promueve con mucho gusto! So I was very happy he signed my book and gave me a copy of his dvd from his special on Comedy Central, clips you can also see here.

So here’s my recommendation to all of my Spanglish speaking amiguitos and visitors to this blog: Go get this book on Amazon. You will be laughing out loud with every page. It’s great writing. Very funny stuff!

This morning on the Gold Line Metro to Pasadena on my way to work, people were looking over probably thinking “¿Y pues ésta que lee?” Es que me moría de la risa, está super chistoso.

backcover

Back cover text menciona a Ponce de Leon, Ricky Martin, Cesar Chavez y Dora la Exploradora.

Here’s the link to Amazon so you can get the book.

You can also find it on  his website: http://www.billsantiago.com/ plus see his calendar and next locations for his standup.

bill santiago

Foto con mi nuevo amigo, Bill Santiago.

4 Responses to “Bill Santiago is my new favorite comedian and linguistics professor.”

  1. romy November 17, 2009 at 10:32 #

    me gusto mucho cris, me prestas el libro para catch up on mi spanglish ok

  2. Marisol Rosas November 17, 2009 at 13:18 #

    Lo acabo de pedir pero en paperbackswap.com I love that website, you should check it out. Cuando lo lea, te aviso. Un abrazo

  3. iphotographie November 18, 2009 at 22:19 #

    A prestame ese libro Cris… se ve que esta super chistoso!! Luego te paso la estacion esa que te comente de Calexico. Te mueres de la risa.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Este Jueves Vamos al Improv Comedy Lab! « Life in Spanglish - November 17, 2009

    [...] Mi Lista….A-List! Bill Santiago is my new favorite comedian and linguistics professor. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

