RIP J.D. Salinger…

28 Jan

 

What I like best is a book that’s at least funny once in a while…What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn’t happen much, though.
The Catcher in the Rye, Holden Caulfield

J. D. Salinger

I was in the 8th Grade at Our Lady Of Guadalupe Academy when I first read The Catcher in the Rye and it was the first book that I remember made me feel like a “grown-up”.  A friend had lent it to me, it wasn’t required reading or anything (I suppose the nuns would not have approved) and finished it in days.  

So I’m sorry to hear the news that J.D. Salinger passed away today at 91 years old. He never wanted to be seen, nor gave inteviews, and we never really knew much about him, which added to the intrigue. It must be a sad day for his fans.

I think I’ll pick up a copy in the library to read it again.

One Response to “RIP J.D. Salinger…”

  1. Henny Márquez Andress January 29, 2010 at 12:16 #

    Truly one of my favorite books of all time. I hear he apparently had a few books written that were left in his safe. Hopefully we can enjoy those books soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

