“Soy Tu Fan”: I’m hooked.

27 Jul

Maybe you’ve noticed I haven’t been posting much lately and here’s why: I’m hooked ont his great Mexican Independant TV series calle “Soy Tu Fan.”  My sister Romy told me to see it.

Every night last week I went to bed LATE after watching the full episodes on youtube. It’s not a reality show, not really a novela. It’s the best comedy-drama I’ve seen of contemporary Mexico City, with stories that feel familiar, not acted, and situations that I’ve never seen on tv before….that’s all I’ll say. Forget the novelas on El Canal de las Estrellas or TV Azteca. Así es como recuerdo al DF y la vida allá. Cada episodio parece una postal.

The series just wrapped it’s first season in Mexico City on Canal Once TV. But the smart people who produce it, like Gael Garcia Bernal, Diego Luna and Ana Claudia Talancón had the good sense to put it on youtube. All 13 episodes, commercial free!  Todos los actores eran poco conocidos (Ana Claudia es la mas famosa) pero después de verlos me imagino que ustedes también se van a hacer fans. They are all good actors and very good looking, but not threatening or plastic. They all look like real people or somebody you know.

I don’t want to give too much of away: but your typical subjects are all here: love, loss, heartache, what should I do with my life?, friends and lovers, gente fresa, gente normal, familia, paying the rent, desveladas, fiestas, problemas, etc, etc. Plus a great soundtrack! Lo que mas me gustó fue ver a mujeres que no son las típicas “niñas bonitas”,  no dependen de los hombres y hablan y expresan lo que piensan sin tener que quedar bien. Quite a contrast from the women you see on all the novelas. Which is why I’m probably surprised that they even made it for TV, but totally explains why it’s on Canal Once and not on Televisa.

Here’s the link to the first episode. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 571 other followers

