¿Qué onda con el vitamin water?

18 Aug

Running through the downtown metro station transfer when I saw this poster for Vitamin water.

Made me stop in my tracks…what did I just read?

Como que Que Onda Last Night? I guess we all need our vitamins in the morning.

Dice el poster, “QueOndaLastNight water” y no le entendi hasta que pensé “AAAhhh! ESA onda.”

OKokok. I give them credit for trying and for using Spanglish in their marketing.

Promise to look more closely and take a better picture soon.

Drink your vitamins! By the way, did you know Fifty Cent (the rapper) owns part of the company. Nice, right?

5 Responses to “¿Qué onda con el vitamin water?”

  1. Gonzalo Quintana August 19, 2010 at 00:08 #

    Interesting that spanglish is getting into marketing campaigns.

  2. Max September 6, 2010 at 03:14 #

    what do you think it shows, this use of spanglish into marketing campaigns?

  3. Ed O'Hara December 14, 2010 at 14:28 #

    It’s about tiempo!

  4. Nicole July 24, 2012 at 09:04 #

    Hi, I’m an Italian student and I’m writing a thesis about Spanglish. Could you explain me the meaning of “qué onda last night?” I’d like to put this image as an example of Spanglish advertising. Thanx!!

    p.s. Where do you live?

    • lifeinspanglish July 24, 2012 at 14:19 #

      The way they wrote it means “What went on last night?” or “what happened last night”. It is not a literal translation as “onda” means “frequency” (but I don’t want to confuse you!) Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers

