Get me that same old feeling

19 Aug

Call me a little nostalgic, but I was thinking the other night of how much photos and images and data in general have evolved during the last 5 years. And I’m not sure that it’s entirely for the best.

Not to be anti-progress, because I can’t live without the internet. It’s just that our familiar processes have all changed. No more 35 mm rolls of film, no more anticipation to see images, no more printing and sharing tangible pictures. Now in the span of seconds you take it, see it, share it with everybody. The world is a  facebook oyster. (Disculpas a los fans de Shakespeare por hacer trizas su quote.)

And somehow I think the volume of images and the instant gratification makes pictures lose a little value. Stay with me here… Remeber how before you would look at an image in Life Magazine or National Geographic and you knew those people were true artists, masters of their craft, using a mechanical object to grab a moment in time. They staked out their subject, found an interesting angle, and would produce art in a process that has since become extinct. Now we have megapixels and photoshop and flickr and everything needs to be done with the computer. Yes it’s easier, more practical, even less expensive…but it seems it doesn’t hold its value for long. I’ve recently been longing for the moment when you would anticipate developing a roll of film, how you had to wait at least one hour and then you would either love or hate the turnout. You only had 24 or 36 chances to get it right each time. So each image was more thought out.

Anyways…the good people at NPR.org have mentioned today is World Photography Day. I’m not sure that is even observed anywhere but here in the US, but it seems like a good idea. I think I’ll go out with my camera tonight just to commemorate it and the summertime magic hour in California.

And I was also inspired by this image below. I’d like to fantasize that SHE is my close relative, somebody who put the photo genes in the family and now we are following her footsteps. I can’t explain how much I like this photograph. The image is from NPR’s website page, the picture show, and it is from the Eastman Kodak Archive. I’m sure we must be related. She even looks a little like me, don’t you think?

"Woman with Camera" taken from the archives of Eastman Kodak. This image moved me so much. We must be family!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

