Donated my hair to Locks of Love

9 Sep

http://www.locksoflove.org/donate.html

For Marisol Rosas, Alida Almaraz, Rocio Padilla, y Araiz, who have been through so much this year, and for everybody who is fighting this with hope and faith.

“Never, Never, Never Give Up!”  – Winston Churchill

Today I made one of the best decisions of my life. I cut 10 inches of my hair and donated it to the Locks of Love organization. This is their mission and vision:

Locks of Love is a public non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children under age 21 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis. We meet a unique need for children by using donated hair to create the highest quality hair prosthetics.

Our mission is to return a sense of self, confidence and normalcy to children suffering from hair loss by utilizing donated ponytails to provide the highest quality hair prosthetics to financially disadvantaged children. The children receive hair prostheses free of charge or on a sliding scale, based on financial need.

I had been thinking about it for some time and wanted to do something to contribute. And let me tell you, I have been blessed with plenty of hair to go around. Como dice mi Mamá “Tienes una mata de cabello!” And I had been wearing it long for many years now. It was time for a change. Don’t get me wrong, I was attached to it and I did love it, but the more I read about it, the more I felt I wanted to help. Then I remembered and thought about all the people I know of who are in treatment, and the decision was much easier.

The process is quite simple. Just show up to any participating salon with clean long hair, have them put it in a ponytail or braid and chop, chop, chop! It’s quite liberating. Then you put in a ziploc bag and the salon sends it out to them or you send it via regular mail. (Visit the website for more info: http://www.locksoflove.org)

As for the new length, it’s a little bit shorter than expected, but it’s quite nice. My stylist Victoria was so excited for me. She kept telling me “You’re going to make someone really, really happy.” But call me a hedonist. The happiness goes both ways. This is a very small thing I did that made ME really happy.

Thanks to the wonderful Victoria at Chignon Salon in Pasadena (es francés de chongo ok, no la palabra en español!) and to my friend Abril Macías for the great pix and for waiting for the end result.

Anatomy of a haircut scene: start with really long hair; braid it; chop it; send it; enjoy new look.

10 Responses to “Donated my hair to Locks of Love”

  1. Martha September 10, 2010 at 03:22 #

    You are not only one of the most beautiful friends I have but the most inspiring of women… Amiga aunque siempre te lo digo y lo vuelo a repetir, eres LO MAXIMO! Y el pelo cortito te va muy bien, muy cute y chic! You r my hero today!

  2. Marisol Rosas September 10, 2010 at 10:59 #

    WOW! Amiga, que bonita manera de contribuir, traias el cabello larguisimo y exactamente, siempre has tenido una mata! Haras a una nina muy feliz de seguro y sobre todo, inspiraras a muchas!
    Aparte se te ve mucho mas ‘chic’ ahora! Aplausos para ti mi Cris!
    (still we’re due for that update!) un beso y abrazo!

  3. Viviana September 10, 2010 at 12:45 #

    QUE BIEN QUE PUDISTE AYUDAR… SE TE VE MUY BONITO TAMBIEN.

  4. gaby campos September 10, 2010 at 17:23 #

    Que hermosa manera de ayudar Cristy, mi sobrina hizo lo mismo en dic para el teleton.. Te felicito por este bello ejemplo….

  5. Mariana September 10, 2010 at 20:27 #

    Felicidades Cristy!
    Esa es una super buena causa y ademas el nuevo corte se te ve muy bien =)!!!

  6. Eugenia September 11, 2010 at 10:24 #

    Hi Cristi! You look great with shorter hair, as a matter of fact I like it better that way because you look modern and chic. Go Cristi!

    And of course, the purpose was for a very noble cause and for that my respects… :)

  7. Araiz September 14, 2010 at 14:06 #

    Genial Cristi! Muy lindo lo que hiciste, llenarás el corazón de más de una persona =) y además te ves muy guapa con el nuevo look, osea que fue una onda ganar-ganar!
    Te mando un beso!!

  8. Rocio September 20, 2010 at 16:37 #

    Chin! Sorry, I’m a little on the late train… Mil gracias..un bonito detalle de tu parte AND you look good too! When I saw you this weekend, I had to do a double take…thought to myself, I could of sworn she had longer hair…=)

    Gracias.

  9. Karla B. September 20, 2010 at 17:55 #

    Te quedo bien lindo amiga! te luce de cualquier manera :)

  10. Carla Uro October 1, 2010 at 19:19 #

    Cristy, muchas felicidades por tomar esta decision, mi cuñada q vivio muchos años en L.A. tambien lo hizo en su momento y tenía una super matota de pelo asi como tu y como yo comprenderemos jijii, que padre que existen estas organizaciones para apoyar a quien lo necesita de verdad,,, te quedo muuuy lindo!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 544 other followers

