Buying Guacamole and stuff at Costco

23 Feb

Planning an Oscar Party this weekend? You may want to head over to Costco and browse through the novedoso Mexican inspired pre-made selections available ahorita.

I knew Fish tacos were popular, but these kits blew my socks off. They’re the kind you would eat in Ensenada, Baja California, although there is no comparison of course. Ya vienen todos empacaditos, all the ingredients are ready to heat and serve, and pre-packaged in one convenient box. And they are made by a company called Okami. That just screams mexicano, verdad?

( I admit, I wouldn’t purchase such a kit, because they could never compare to my friend Martha’s mom, Alicia Coronel. She is the master!)

Baja Fish Tacos, conveniently pre-packaged at Costco. Why didn't I think of that!

Pescado empanizado, check. Repollo, check. Tortillas de maiz, check. Nomas le falta la salsita, la cremita y el limoncito.

Of course, no party is a party without chips and dip, and if you like guacamole, but don’t have the time to make it, just grab a “Wholee Guacamolee” box and you’re set. I never know how they can keep the guac from turning brown though, and that kind of  makes me nervous. (Again, I wouldn’t buy pre made guacamole because my grandomother, la Mama Lilia, makes the best. She is the master!)

I get the word play, but I would have added a "Holy" and some angelitos to the design and then it would look more Mexican.

Lest you feel unsatisfied with these antojitos, you can always go for the pork carnitas box, made by our local Cardenas supermarket familia, and their brand Del Real. I hear they’re good!

Pork Carnitas by Del Real made locally by the Cardenas family, aka Cardenas Markets.

 

2 Responses to “Buying Guacamole and stuff at Costco”

  1. Martha February 24, 2011 at 14:09 #

    awww…that’s my mama! la verdad que los tacos de mi mama estan deeeli!!! xo

  2. jorge March 26, 2011 at 10:13 #

    i gotta say the carnitas and the guacamole are delicious… pero los fish tacos? whaaaakala!! your better off making your own ingredients and breading ur own fish por ke vas a tener un dolor de pansa despues de esos fake fish tacos! lol alomejor its the tartar sauce

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

