Oprah, please don’t go. (Yes, I love Oprah.)

14 May

If you’ve been watching TV in the last 25 years (and unless you’re a caveman, who hasn’t?) it is very likely that you’ve seen the Oprah Winfrey show at some point in your life. Maybe you’re even one of the fans and loyal viewers who used to tape her on VCR in the 80’s and 90’s and then switched to DVR the last few years. That is where I fall in, and frankly, I am in denial about the next 2 weeks when the Oprah show comes to an end.

I remember I started watching her after school. I was in the 8th grade and really liked the way she talked about things. I also remember getting her weight loss book “Make the connection” a few years later- already in college with the freshman 15 adding up -and thinking, “La Oprah es de las mias! She understands me. Oprah is my friend.”

We all knew the show was ending and we thought we’d be ok, right? She let us know way in advance last September.  It’s been fun to go through the reminiscing, to see the classic clips from her 25 year history, and all the memories they stir up from when we watched the show originally. But as the countdown keeps moving on…”Only 15 shows left, only 10 shows left…etc.” I have been getting really sad. Who is going to be there every afternoon/evening for us to connect with? Where will I go for an AHA moment?? Who is going to inspire me- again- to get a new makeover as I just saw on her last makeover ever? Oh noooo, she can’t go! I know she’s all happy she’s going to her OWN Network, but she won’t be there full time and it just won’t be the same. Buu!

Anyhow, I think the lesson (she’s always asking “What is the lesson?”..) is that eventually, we all have to move along with our lives, embrace change, seek new opportunities, reinvent ourselves… YADA YADA YADA, bla bla bla! Es cierto pero no me voy a poner a sermonearlos aquí! I don’t know, maybe in the “new” spare hour, I will finally use my time to learn to crochet.

Today I received my monthly O magazine and there she is, saying goodbye again.  Got the sinking feeling that her millions of viewers are dreading May 25, when the show is off the air and we’re all left in limbo. Y ahora quien podrá ayudarme?? como dijo el Chapulin Colorado.

Her latest cover of the O magazine. Saying goodbye, the long goodbye.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 571 other followers

