Visiting the LA Times Festival of Books this weekend

16 Apr

(A little note/disclaimer: It’s been about two weeks since my last post. Ademas de sentir que ando neglecting a mi blog un poquito, me siento a little under the weather. I have a really bad cold that won’t go away. So they sent me home from work today because I really didn’t sound/look/feel well… and here I am trying to get back into the writing mood. I guess I needed the time out. Hasta una mujer no quiso ride the elevator conmigo this morning. Oh the horror! I think she thought I was a walking virus and let me go first…

Anyhooooo, entre mi last post and this one, we had a family visit con los sobrinitos, Semana Santa and Easter came and went, now it’s tax day and I’m thinking que vamos muy rápido con este 2012.)

To get back into the blogging spirit, may I make a recommendation? If you are a book lover, a voracious reader or just generally enjoy talking to likeminded people who READ: The annual Los Angeles Times Festival of Books takes place this weekend at the USC  Campus and it is not to be missed.

The advertising supplement from the Sunday Los Angeles Times was very useful for planning a trip to the book fair. Photo by yours truly with the iPhone.

I’ve been hearing about it on the radio (KCRW) and yesterday’s LA Sunday Times included the newspaper insert with the program. There’s all sorts of useful information.

You can click HERE for the link to go to the website and browse to see if there’s anything that suits your fancy. The event is free, but some of the lectures or presentations require admission.

There will be something for everybody, book signings, celebrities, books for kids, books on any subject/theme you can imagine, generous sponsors and finally some nice California weather for a change.

I am particularly excited about three  lovely and amazing ladies I practically grew up with (aunque no las conozca en persona, they influenced me and are part of my life in Spanglish) who will be at the event:

Julie Andrews: Our dearest, most favorite actress from The Sound of Music and Mary Poppins will be presenting “The Very Fairy Princess: Here Comes The Flower Girl” on Sunday at 12:55 pm, Target Children’s Stage.

Judy Blume: YES! THE one and only Judy Blume, the writer that made me love reading in the first place. My friends and I practically devoured her entire collection: Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing, Are You There God It’s Me Margaret, Superfudge, Blubber, etc etc.I think she set me on a lifelong love of books, and I don’t say this lightly.

“Judy Blume in Conversation With Mary McNamara” on Saturday 2:30pm, Bovard Auditorium. ($13 admission)

Betty White: Our beloved national treasure and ultimate Golden Girl will also be in person at the fair. “Betty and Friends: My Life at the Zoo,” Interviewed by Karen Grisby Bates. On Sunday at 1:20 pm, Los Angeles Times Stage.

Also, not to be outdone, latinos RE-PRE-SENT! con el super wacky and cool author and editor of the OC Weekly, Gustavo Arellano (Ask a Mexican!) who also just happens to have recently written a book with a very clever title: “Taco USA: How Mexican Food Conquered America” which I’m planning to get a copy of at the fair.

Looking forward to reading Gustavo's new book "Taco USA" since I've been hearing good reviews.

So take advantage of this wonderful opportunity and also, get ready, because in May, we have another Book Fair coming, pero en español!

Yes, pretty soon we must visit the LEA-LA Feria del Libro en Español, el 11, 12 y 13 de Mayo en el Convention Center. More on that later.

4 Responses to “Visiting the LA Times Festival of Books this weekend”

  1. microrrelatososhortstories April 16, 2012 at 18:25 #

    aaaah JUDY BLUME! are you there God…whew! racy material! jajajaaaa…PICTURES PLEASE sister! what is it with us and books? it’s a true love affair which sometimes falls into the PLATONIC LOVE category, we love them from afar (even if we’ve already bought them we just can’t quite get our hands and eyes on them!) cuidate comadre para que disfrutes la feria!!

  2. Dariela (@darielacruz) April 16, 2012 at 21:03 #

    I never went to that fair! I saw it coming and going every year and never got a chance, but I wont give up, sometime I’ll make it! I love Julie Andrews too and I didn’t know about Ask a Nexican new book!! I did go to Lea LA last year and would love to go again!! Que Te mejores Cristy!

  3. From The Pews April 18, 2012 at 09:34 #

    OMG!! Sounds Awesome!!

    Como quisiera ir!!

    Pero Toronto esta muy far! :(

    ENJOY for all of us and tell me about Mr. Arellano’s book.

    I AM SOOOOOOO Glad I found your Blog!

    and Welcome Back!

    Que te sientas mejor :D

    God Love You ♥

  4. Silvia Hemingway April 20, 2012 at 15:37 #

    Cristi, que bien escribes de plano. I have never read Judy B. I would like to go see Julie A. who we all love.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 545 other followers

