Sarape Style Files: A case of the Mondays

23 Apr

Bueno pues… my weekend plans of attending the LA Times Festival of books were thwarted last minute. Plan B was not much fun at all, ¿pero qué le hacemos? Health comes first.

This is officially the second worst cold/flu of my life*. 10 days and counting, sigo afónica con un sore throat  to the point of answering a business call and having the guy identify me as “Cristina with the hoarse voice” (Ouch!)

Note to self: I will no longer try speaking today. Ya fue mucho “güiri-güiri”… I’ll try sign language.

(* The worst cold of my life was not actually a cold but pneumonia at the age of 9, which knocked me out of school for 2 weeks and forever left me scared of salir de la casa con el pelo mojado, but I digress.)

Today I had a case of the Mondays. It is raining in LA and I am trying to get back into the groove of things. This morning I got up like Linus from Peanuts, dragging my blanket, my bed calling out to me still. Does this ever happen to you?

Funny thing, on my way to lunch I saw this woman who was wearing a blanket as a raincoat. Well it’s not exactly a blanket, but a Mexican Sarape, the likes of which I had not seen for a while. Practical and warm? Yes. Stylish and pleasing on the eyes? Not exactly.

But it made me laugh. That is exactly what I felt like wearing.

Gripa, sal de este cuerpo ¡pero YA!!!!

Have a good week my friends.

Maybe it's not the best look in the world, but today I would've happily worn this outfit. Don't think it will make "The Sartorialist" any time soon!

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Sarape Style Files: A case of the Mondays”

  1. microrrelatososhortstories April 23, 2012 at 14:54 #

    JAJAJAAAA..te faltó el DISCLAIMER: I am not a fashion critic nor do I plan to be one, this is my personal opinion and should not be taken as a negative comment towards one of my country’s typical clothing pieces or towards the fashion likes and decisions of the woman in the image…jajjaaaaa…pero si pudo haberle hecho un update, maybe a nice leather belt and some riding boots…eso si debe haber sido la mas comoda y calientita de todos los pedestrians (o pedorians como dijo alguna vez mi mami)

  2. gina dewar April 23, 2012 at 16:38 #

    Cristinaaa, me encanta tu blog!!! Loved it… se me hace cara conocida la señora del sarape pues! gracias por alegrarme el lunes. :)

  3. Marisol April 24, 2012 at 22:20 #

    Good one! Feel better! un abrazo!

  4. From The Pews April 27, 2012 at 08:18 #

    Sorry to read you didn’t go.. :(

    Un Tequilita con mucho limon!! ;) Si no te alivia, mal no te hace ;)

    You know, it never fails, nosotros, pues como que nos hechamos pa’ tras when it comes sporting “our” style at times. Pero esos Gringos, aventados!!

    Thank you for sharing and seriously, I hope you feel better soon. LIQUIDS and REST!!

    God Love You ♥

  5. Mariana Vona Photography April 30, 2012 at 23:07 #

    Espero ya te sientas mejor Cristy!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 571 other followers

