Well, Hello There Mr. 2012!

4 Jan

Happy New Year Everybody!

My five readers have been wondering where the heck I’ve been hiding, since it’s been A WHILE since my last post. Don’t worry, I’m still around, although I needed a few days to recoup after the Christmas break with LA FAMILIA. And then all of a sudden, the New Year crept up on me and the ball was dropping in Times Square on TV. Not to worry, I have some posts to elaborate on in the next few days, so you can see what your pochita friend was up to.

I must confess, I’m also having a bit of a blog existential crisis, as I have been going through some PROSPECTION (the act of looking forward in time or considering the future) which may or may not have to do with an upcoming birthday in February.

“Why?” you may ask. Well, it’s a big one and I won’t elaborate until I’m closer to the date. Yet somehow it has permeated a bit into “Life In Spanglish” and made me consider which material may be suitable enough for posting. I can be trite and trivial, but I do worry about the content and how to keep it fresh. You may not know this about me, but writing this blog for almost 3 years, and working on everything I post here, has been a unique joy- self serving, indulgent, mainly concerned with my own interests- and yet I am extremely surprised when I see a new reader, a comment or a follower. So of course I’m concerned with what to do next and how to keep you coming back for more.

On that note, here’s a promise to get more creative, to get more Spanglish, and to get more informative. The year 2012 looks and feels like the kind of year that will have lots to blog about. I sincerely thank you for sticking around and reading. It means the world to me.

I wish you all the best for this Año Nuevo, may it be a wonderful year for us all.

(Que no nos asusten las proyecciones de los locos, las amenazas “doomsday” y la gente que solo quiere infundir el miedo. Let’s work to make it a good year, shall we?)

Here’s a glimpse into the days I was out and about, truly a beautiful Christmas, one which yet again made us realize how blessed we are to live in Los Angeles, California. ¡Gracias Diosito por todas mis bendiciones!

The Lamps at LACMA are a great photo op. Here's a shot as the early evening progressed on one of the last days of 2011.

I'm going to need my Cinderella shoes for 2012 and all the "festejos" I need to get to. Hopefully this pair of glitter pumps from Kate Spade eventually goes on sale so I can celebrate my birthday in style.

I said it before and I'll say it again. I LOVE LA. This shot of the Miracle Mile with a pink sunset makes me wanna pinch myself. Can you believe this weather? 78 degrees throughout the day, thank you very much.

3 Responses to “Well, Hello There Mr. 2012!”

  1. microrrelatososhortstories January 5, 2012 at 06:55 #

    sweetheart, just in case those shoes don’t go on sale, I’ve noticed several DIY tutorials to get that glittery effect on your favorite heels…I’ll ‘pin’ them up for you!!

    Although we’ve got hectic lives, change is good and refreshing, I also tried to give my blog a new look, but no theme added to its character, so visually it’s staying the same, but as you say: topics, approach, language…there’s always room for experimenting…but in the end our readers are attracted to the blog because they feel the love we put into it…specially on my favorite WORDLESS WEDNESDAYS where you let us fill in the space…love you sister and love your blog

  2. Mariana January 5, 2012 at 16:38 #

    Feliz Ano mi Cristy!
    Ya veras que este ano es nuestro ano! =) Let’s be positive and look life with hope!
    Don’t stop blogging, I love your stories and the way you tell them, with that sense of humor that characterizes you.
    We need a photo scout day again soooon. I know how to use the flash now and I can teach you =) hehehe.
    xoxo

  3. O January 5, 2012 at 19:15 #

    Loyal Reader #3 says, “Don’t overthink. Just do.” Keep blogging and posting photos. We love your point of view.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers

